India for long has been known as a very traditional and conservative nation where cultures and traditions influence people in many ways. Whenever foreigners think of India they see her as a land of elephants or a land of snake charmers (as depicted in so many of the international channel),so I am still unable to fathom as to why these channels rarely focus on Bangalore or Mumbai which is one of the most happening places in India.
Slowly but surely, thanks to a resurgent Indian youth, who are venturing into unchartered territories and are ruling the roost in all fields, the glass ceiling has broken .Indians have emerged market leaders and are now raking in the moolah .The IT revolution too has played a very important role in cementing India’s place as one of the fastest growing nations in the world.So “what does India lack in ?” we have a great youth,an outstanding president, natural resourses…so what more does a country want.
This is one side of the story, the bright side; but there is more to it than meets the eye.
These successful people hardly represent 1% of our population.There are people in India who are unable to eat a square meal a day, unable to sleep on a proper bed, unable to sleep in fear of waking up dead, unable to reach for the stars while standing on a mountain of garbage, unable to stare straight at another man’s eyes without flinching….
People still have access to only dry toilets (which our country claims to have abolished),people still believe in various superstitions which are against the law of science, they have limited access to science and technology, most of all they don’t choose their destiny but let destiny unwind itself....
India earlier could boast of an excellent value system but now it has become pathetic to say the least....the nithari incident,the gujarat riots....people say its just a stray case but it just the tip of an iceberg...
So while the super rich partyed at Goa on newyear's eve,the majority searced for pavements to sleep on.While they are paid in the millions, the majority are paid in insults. While they wear fancy jewllery and trendy Armani suits the majority make do with jimikis and worn-out torn dothis,while they sent their childen to reputed universities the majority havnt even seen one,while they go to switzerland and hawaii for vacation the majority can but dream of a vacation,while they spend money throwing lavish dinner parties the majority cant have a decent meal...
So is India really shining??
Give me your take on it..
Saturday, January 27, 2007
Sunday, January 21, 2007
international person of the year
so who do u think is the person of the year..... not big b i am thinking beyond him!!
come on there are scores of people making a difference in our daily life ....
so i was left pondering over this n finally had to use someting which had been locked safely between my ears...so heres my take
person of the year-the common middle class man
with inflation up and beyond all stretches of our boundaryless imagination, with mentally retarded politicians who believe that building a temple in aydhoya will solve the problem of poverty not to mention KING george who thinks that the world is his playground,the ups and downs of our unfathomable stock market,racism showing its ugly head once again,
and ofcourse (with all due respect)ramjethmalani who has entertained us all with his ideas, thoughts and actions
for the middle class, just to outlast this onslaught of ridiculousness is a ,shall we say,commendable achievement
and hence the INTERNATIONAL PERSON OF THE YEAR IS THE COMMON MIDDLE CLASS MAN
come on there are scores of people making a difference in our daily life ....
so i was left pondering over this n finally had to use someting which had been locked safely between my ears...so heres my take
person of the year-the common middle class man
with inflation up and beyond all stretches of our boundaryless imagination, with mentally retarded politicians who believe that building a temple in aydhoya will solve the problem of poverty not to mention KING george who thinks that the world is his playground,the ups and downs of our unfathomable stock market,racism showing its ugly head once again,
and ofcourse (with all due respect)ramjethmalani who has entertained us all with his ideas, thoughts and actions
for the middle class, just to outlast this onslaught of ridiculousness is a ,shall we say,commendable achievement
and hence the INTERNATIONAL PERSON OF THE YEAR IS THE COMMON MIDDLE CLASS MAN
wow what a long year!!
am a little late for the newyear special blog ...but all the same!!
last year kicked off with me trying to cram in volumes of useless ,may i add ridiculous, facts and figures for my boards...
n i still cant get over the fact that i was pulled down by social and english which was supposedly my cup of tea...
anyway i then reluctantly packed my bags headed for madurai...man chennai to madurai what a transformation!!
but the school is great though....
i was actually made to dance!!can u believe it...me??dance??same as asking a pessimist to be optimistic!!finally got over that....with ofcourse a little help from the smoke screen...
was then forced to see fanaa because of my sis...n what a waste of 3 precious hours of sleep partly because i felt that the storyline was not good and partly because i couldnt understand much....all the same had fun at the canteen !!
but then the year moved on so fast and the new year beackons ....as for newyear resolutions...having hardly followed it till the next day the past two years adios!!
last year kicked off with me trying to cram in volumes of useless ,may i add ridiculous, facts and figures for my boards...
n i still cant get over the fact that i was pulled down by social and english which was supposedly my cup of tea...
anyway i then reluctantly packed my bags headed for madurai...man chennai to madurai what a transformation!!
but the school is great though....
i was actually made to dance!!can u believe it...me??dance??same as asking a pessimist to be optimistic!!finally got over that....with ofcourse a little help from the smoke screen...
was then forced to see fanaa because of my sis...n what a waste of 3 precious hours of sleep partly because i felt that the storyline was not good and partly because i couldnt understand much....all the same had fun at the canteen !!
but then the year moved on so fast and the new year beackons ....as for newyear resolutions...having hardly followed it till the next day the past two years adios!!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)